Lightened Up Broccoli Salad

Mercy me!! I concocted a “to die for” summer recipe that comes in at only about 1.5 WW points per cup. I have always loved the broccoli salad with the red onions, bacon, raisins, & mayo dressing but never made it myself. Figured I’d have more self-control if I ate it only at picnics & had no leftovers. BUT, if you make substiutions, you can have all the taste & a fraction of the calories. Here’s how…

1 1/2 to 2 bunches of fresh broccoli, chopped up to bite-sized pieces (free)
11 slices turkey bacon cut up (that was 1/2 the package I had)
– Turkey bacon is 1 point per slice fyi.
2/3 cup raisins (4 points)
1 small red onion, chopped (free)
1 1/2 cup fat free Miracle Whip dressing (7 points) – use less if you want less points. It’s 5 points per cup.
1 cup Splenda (free)
3 Tbl vinegar (free)

Refrigerate for supposedly 2 hours or more. I couldn’t wait, so ate some after 1 hour – INCREDIBLE!!! So good!! This recipe has made it into the summer rotation. The bowl I made had about 12 cups of salad in it & totaled 20 points!! I like plenty of dressing.

Gotta go. More broccoli salad calls!

broccoli-salad


One response to “Lightened Up Broccoli Salad

Leave a Reply

