Memorial Day 2009

Random thoughts this Memorial Day:
– North Korea tested nuclear weapons last night; a notch or two beyond the usual “saber rattling” they normally do.
– Dr. Lee (from church) came home to his family of eight from his Iraq tour yesterday. :] Celebration!!
– Kenneth, a dear kneeling prayer warrior in our church, wept as he prayed over this country – the one his brother gave his life for so many years ago in WWII.
– Grandma Jean always took flowers & planted on family graves on this day. I’m really missing her today.
– Keith’s been showing the kids the storybook made by his uncle about Great Uncle Milton all weekend.
– My daughter pulled out some “old” photos to ask me about them. Doesn’t she remember? No, she doesn’t.
– There’s so much I want our children to have locked in their little hearts before they leave our nest. I don’t want them to forget…
the sacrifices made so they can be in this time & place with the blessings they have.
the incredible family they come from.
the love from our family & our God that keeps us strong through any storm that will come.
all the stories of storms & victories God’s brought us through in my, our family, & this country’s past.

All that & their Bible stories, too! There’s so much to tell them. So little time! No wonder God said “remember” so much…

“This is a day to remember. Each year, from generation to generation, you must celebrate it…” – Exodus 12:14
“But don’t be afraid of them! Just remember what the Lord your God did to Pharaoh…” – Deut. 7:18
Remember how the Lord your God led you through the wilderness for these forty years…” – Deut. *:2
Remember what Moses, the servant of the Lord, commanded you…” – Joshua 1:13
Remember to obey the Law of Moses, my servant…” – Malachi 4:4
“Don’t you remember the 5,000 I fed with five loaves, and the baskets of leftovers you picked up?” – Matthew 16:9
“Listen to me and remember what I say…” – Luke 9:44
Remember what happened to Lot’s wife!” – Luke 17:32
“Do this to remember me.” – Luke 22:19
Remember my chains.” – Colossians 4:18

Lord, may I be faithful in remembering. May I give my children a solid foundation of these stories so they will remember long after I’m gone so that they, in turn, may they teach their children to remember.


Leave a Reply

