Homemaking A-Z Meme Going Around

Okay, I guess I’ll play. My sister-in-law & cousin are doing this one, so I’ll join in. Feel free to join us!

Aprons – Y/N? If Y, what does your favorite look like? I have quite a few, but don’t use them.
Baking – Favorite thing to bake – I LOVE to bake, but try to limit it due to sweet intake. Cookies, bread (sweet & loaf), cakes. See what I mean?
Clothesline – Y/N? Yep. Love it especially for blankets, sheets & towels.
Donuts – Have you ever made donuts? Oh, yeah. The best! The kids don’t remember it though, so I probably should do that one of these days.
Every day – One homemaking thing you do every day – tidy up the rooms. Preferably before dinner.
Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze? Definitely. Couldn’t make it without one at this point.
Garbage Disposal – Y/N? Absolutely no. Can’t stand them.
Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource? Our Fields family cookbook.
Ironing – Love it or hate it? Don’t love it, but do it most mornings because our family loves cotton clothes.
Junk drawer – Y/N? K & I each have one. Plus a junk garage & attic.
Kitchen – Color and decorating. Blueberries & plaid with a gingerbread trim. Love it!!
Love – What is your favorite part of homemaking? The fresh clean smell & feeling in the spring after deep cleaning, breezy open windows & fresh cut wildflowers in the summer, the well stocked pantry in the fall & feeling of bounty, putting the winter decorations up together & rocking by the fireplace when it’s done.
Mop – Y/N? Swiffer only.
Nylons – Wash by hand or in the washing machine? Haven’t worn those for a decade, but used to be a washing machine thing. Of course being “delicate”, I’d throw them in an old pillowcase & knot it before washing.
Oven – Do you use the window or open the oven to check? Both. Probably peek in more, though.
Pizza – What do you put on yours? Hawaiian, please. The kids & I love pineapple & K does Pepperoni, so we almost always go half-sies. K makes out like a bandit!
Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment? Mull over Club or school stuff, make lists, play on the computer, or load up my iPod with talk radio.
Recipe card box – Yep. Still have the one my extended family gave me as a shower gift fourteen years ago – blue plastic. Still works like new.
Style- What style is your house? Nineteenth century farm, white with green shutters & all. Love it!
Tablecloths and napkins – Y/N? A must. Although we use place mats, not tablecloth. But napkins – each meal.
Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland? Organized. Grandma got me started on that.
Vacuum – How many times per week? Once a month. We don’t wear shoes in the house & it really doesn’t get dirty. Except around the edges in the kitchen. When I start noticing crumblies around there, we know it’s time to drag out the old sweeper.
Wash – How many loads of laundry do you do per week? Mondays & Thursdays are usually wash days. Average of about four loads each time. So I guess that makes eight.
X’s – Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off? I always have a stack of lists going on. One for groceries, one for things to do around the house for the season, one for the day, one for the week, one for Club, one for… well, you get the picture. I am my father’s child.
Yard – Y/N? I usually do the flower beds & K does the lawn. When a baby’s on the way, the flowerbeds don’t happen. He dreams of training up his boys to take the lawn over for him real soon!
Zzz’s – What is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed? Folding laundry. I save that to sit & chat with Hubby, then the kids & I have a “clothes party” the next morning to get them all in the drawers. It’s all in what you name it. (The kids won’t touch egg SALAD sandwiches, but love “Easter egg sandwiches”.)


One response to “Homemaking A-Z Meme Going Around

Leave a Reply

