Random Thoughts On Heaven

Heaven’s often on our mind around here; it’s hard to put those thoughts concisely into a post, but here are some recent thoughts…

One thing I do know, we won’t be spirits just floating around (2 Corinthians 5:3). Disney or some such has put into our heads we’ll spend forever floating around on a cloud strumming a harp like Goofy. That sure doesn’t sound like much fun to me. In contrast, the Bible talks about Heaven & the resurrection – the end to sin & eternity with our Saviour – as our HOPE! We should be encouraging one another with these words (1 Thessalonians 4:13-18). Yet often, we are so enjoying our “entertained away” life down here, we never give Heaven a thought & when we do, in our ignorance it’s not very appealing. We are so missing out.

In Heaven, I do believe we will keep our personalities & differences. For example, Dad loved gardening & music here on earth; why would that stop in Heaven? Our tastes & interests are not inherently sinful. Our uniquenesses are reflections of God’s creativity. I think Dad still enjoys new vocabulary words. Which leads me to the next thought,

I think we’ll learn in Heaven & I don’t believe that we will ever stop learning. We serve an infinite God Who we can easily spend eternity with & still not know all about Him & certainly will NEVER know all He does – that would make us God (a Mormon belief, although I have heard that alluded to in well intentioned SS classes). Sometimes I hear comments from other Christians to the effect that “all our questions will be answered”. What? We’ll be instantly zapped with all-knowingness? Where is that found in scripture? I think too many Christians buy into this mystical vagueness of Heaven that sounds awfully close to spiritualism to me.

There are those who have voiced a great sorrow over losing our married status in Heaven; our spouses will just be another person – our relationship will be different. I have mulled that one over & tried to see it through their eyes, but honestly, I look so forward to my relationship with Keith in Heaven!! No, he won’t be my husband, but better yet, he’ll be my PERFECTED BROTHER!!! Think of it!! We will get to know each other so much deeper than we ever can down here, finally unshackled by sin’s chains!! I can’t wait! Keith will finally get to see me as I was created to be – redeemed, unblemished, completely God’s reflection. I tear up just thinking of it. I can’t wait to get to know my Keith that way as well; complete, whole, faultless, glorified!! Wow. All i can say is thank You, Jesus; I stand in awe of You.

“Oh, that will be glory for me…
When by His grace I shall look on His face,
that will be glory for me.”


Leave a Reply

