Ten Reasons I’m Glad We Get To Homeschool

10) The core lessons, when taught one-on-one, don’t take that long! This leaves plenty of time to pursue other things: read the classics, memorize Scripture, learn how to knit, try out Tae Kwon Do or ballet lessons on DVD, exercise with Mom & Dad, piano, fun family trips, etc.

9) When someone comes to visit, everything can revolve around enjoying the visitor (Grandma, aunts & uncles, etc.) These are cherished times! I want my kids to know their extended family.

8 ) I get to choose who my kids hang out with & form friendships with – an ever increasing “must” for both safety & wisdom in this day & age.

7) My children can grow at their own pace. They may excel beyond their assigned grade in one area, but need to take extra time to learn another, for them, more challenging skill. Every child is unique in their learning skills & styles.

6) My kids don’t have to waste their time standing in line for the bathroom, wait for everyone else to get out their books & sharpen pencils to start lessons, or learn new “tricks” in the lunchroom or playground. That’s not to say they don’t waste time or learn new tricks, but I have a lot more control over all that in these early years.

5) My kids don’t compare themselves to others – they don’t think they’re the smartest kid on the block, or the dummy in the class, either – healthy self-esteem.

4) I know what my kids are learning & can supplement with resources at the library, etc. We get excited & discuss topics as they “pop up” in real life.

3) I get to introduce God into their lives throughout their studies & day. (ex. – study China/Buddhism = we get to talk about how Jesus is different from other gods.) We can talk about how penguins & peacocks are MADE & how creative God is! We can note God’s awesome creativity in snowflakes, tree varieties, animals, etc.

2) My kids see me as the main authority in their life. They want to please me (for the most part!!), learn from me…I have their hearts. Time will come soon enough for them to give it away to another.

1) My kids know each other. We get to make memories together rather than with 30 kids & the teacher of the year. We spend time together. The older learn to be patient with the younger & the younger admire the older.

No, it’s not a utopia of learning every day, but every day I am thankful for this year with my three children at home.


7 responses to “Ten Reasons I’m Glad We Get To Homeschool

  • cellista

    What a great list! Thanks for writing this. It’s always good to be reminded of why I love homeschooling too.

  • Sara

    Hey…about what happened with number 8…it’s an emoticon — punctuation that looks like smiley faces 🙂 is a regular smiley face, 8) smiley face with glasses, 😉 winking smiley face, 😛 sticking out your tongue smile face, 😀 Big cheesy grin smiley face, ;;) bat your eyelash smiley face, :* sending you kisses smiley face, ;\ oops, I think my face fell off….ha ha ha

  • Sara

    OK…obviously your program only recognized SOME of my emoticons…but for the ones it did…I’ll do them again…
    regular smiley face colon parentheses 🙂
    number eight and parentheses 8)
    semi-colon and parentheses 😉
    colon and letter p :p
    colon and capital letter d 😀

  • Sara

    colon and capital letter p 😛

  • liberty92

    Got it! Thanks for enlightening me. Like I said, that’s never popped up on me like that before. So, now how do you just say “number eight”? I’ll have to fiddle with that.

  • liberty92

    HEY! This is fun! 😉 Had to put a space between the 8 & the ). Learn something new every day 😛 Look out world; Leigh Ann knows how to “emoticon”. 😀

  • Renaissance Guy

    Great list! I agree with you and salute you. Keep up the good work. The future of our society depends on parents like you.

Leave a Reply

