It’s Hymn Time

My blog friend, Alicia, got me thinking about Thanksgiving music (or lack thereof). Besides “Over the River & Through the Woods”, there isn’t much out there, although we do have some great hymns & what better time to dust them off & sing? Our family doesn’t have an intentional plan for teaching our children the great hymns of the faith, but it’s one of those things on my list to work on. A thought to remedy this would be to commission the month of November “Hymns Month” & listen to the hymns all through November. Another way to do it would be to have, say two hymns for each month? Have any of you ever done anything like this in your families? If so, what are some helpful hints on the best way to go about it?

One of the things I want for our children is to be able to sing along with their brothers & sisters in the faith throughout the world, across the generations & denominations some of the great hymns that link us such as Great Is thy Faithfulness, The Old Rugged Cross, Amazing Grace, & O For a Thousand Tongues to Sing. It’s so fun to not have to look at the words & just bellow them out to the Lord straight from the heart (in my experience anyhow). The closest “curriculum” I’ve seen out there for this is the Hymns For A Kid’s Heart series. A few artists have hymn Cds: Second Chapter of Acts, Danny Byram, Selah, Mercy Me, Amy Grant, Elvis, Dolly Parton, Gomer Pyle, & Petra to name a few.

There are so many great hymns out there, when I stop to make a list! Where to start? Looks like Renaissance Guy already got a list started in the same direction.

I thought about putting an Elvis or Dolly rendition of “How Great Thou Art”, but just couldn’t bring myself to do it. I do however love this old gem… (Sing along if you know it!)


2 responses to “It’s Hymn Time

  • renaissanceguy

    I have taught hymns to my students at school in a systematic manner. I hope that you will teach the gems to your children. They will certainly appreciate it in the future, if not now.

  • Alicia

    We learn them as part of our memory work, which often gets tied to family worship. We aim for a new hymn or worship song each week (I try to alternate between old and new).

Leave a Reply

