Things Grandma Taught Us

Okay, so my cousin made a great list of helpful things she learned from Grandma & asked what we could add to it. That’s been one of the things that has been bouncing around my head this week as I drove the kids to & from field trips, etc.

Here’s the list that came to mind…

– ALWAYS wear your good underwear when you go out (to town). You never know when you’ll be in an accident & end up in the hospital where everyone will see it. (Now, this one was not a joke! It does cause one to stop & think however, & I really can’t imagine my underwear staying real fresh should a said accident causing me or my loved ones to end up in the hospital occur, so it really makes no sense, but there you have it.)

– When shopping for Christmas or birthday gifts, you want to find “something nice”. We all know what that means. You’ll know it when you find it. (tasteful, sometimes practical but often frivolous yet useful, uniquely that person, etc.)

– Always make your bed first thing in the morning.

– If you need something, you ask family first. That’s what family is for. You DON’T go outside the family to ask for help. (ex – moving, favors, special babysitting jobs, etc.)

– The higher your hair, the closer you are to God. (See Grandma Dora’s picture for proof.)

– Of course, you get what you pay for.

– It is a crying shame for good, rich farm land to be used for anything but farming. (She was not a fan of all the new building projects going up around here ON FARM LAND.)

– When in doubt, go with pink.:)

– When it’s hot, walk down to your daughter’s pool for a “Jeanie Dip” – wade waist high, stroke the water around your hips, catch up on the family news, & never get mad at the kids when they splash you (they always do!)

– There’s some kind of genetic mutation that causes approximately half the women in the family to attain a “dribble spot”. Started with Grandma, I think, but how do we know, really?

– And I would say the most important lesson Grandma lived out for me: Love, honor, & respect your husband. You’ll have a beautiful marriage & kids/grandkids who love to come home. ALWAYS be your husband’s number one fan.

I’ve started a list of things Grandpa taught us as a second installment…

– Eat before you’re hungry & sleep before you’re tired.

– Drive slow & watch for deer!

– Wear socks.

– Take a break & watch a nature show or two. It’s good for you.

– Kids today don’t learn anything at school. One proof: Leigh Ann’s direction sense. Never mind that his daughter Gwendolyn has the same issue.:) Grandpa would refer to the north or east side of stuff & expect a city slicker kid like me to know which side of the building he was talking about!!! Can you imagine? I have to say, I’ve gotten better at that after seven years out here on the farm. I know MY place, but don’t ask me which way’s north if we’re sitting at church or Burger King. That will never come, trust me! My brother says my life verse is Hebrews 11:8, “By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called…And he went out, not knowing where he was going.” That’s not a schoolin’ problem, I have “directional dyslexia”, thank you.


One response to “Things Grandma Taught Us

  • writinggb

    Wonderful! I especially love the hair comment 🙂

    I’ve been thinking a lot about what I’ve learned from my grandma. I’m working on her memoir and blogging about the process. But I haven’t tried making a list yet. Good idea.

    I like your blog!

Leave a Reply

