Tomorrow (Matthew 6:34)

You know my sweet little grandma? (See picture of her baptism two posts down, October 6th, “Follow Me”.) She went into the hospital last night. It looks like this may be nearing her time to go Home. It’s not completely unexpected seeing as how she’s pushing 90 years old & has had leukemia for 30 years, but it’s a very slow moving kind & they’ve been able to keep it at bay for all these years with her health looking excellent. But as she’s gotten older, I see her every year looking more & more frail.

She’s the one who raised her family in this house for the fifty years before we started here. Somehow, the reality of her possibly never coming home from the hospital suddenly makes me see her all over this house again. I see her standing at the sink washing dishes & shredding carrots while Grandpa sits at the stool “keeping guard”. I see her frying up the morning eggs (a daily occurrence) at this dumb old stove that won’t give up. I can see her sweeping the driveway, raking leaves out from under the bushes, & planting flowers around the well cover (snapdragons).

Life moves by too quickly!!! Wasn’t it just yesterday that Serena & I were college kids here stealing Grandpa’s vast collection of cardigans & telling them every night at dinner about our adventures? Wasn’t it just the other day Grandma showed me how to plant the strawberry patch? She & her dad, apple orchard owner (it’s still in the family, just another branch of the family tree:), tended a huge one all the years she was growing up. Weren’t we just planting red geraniums together at her parents’ grave for memorial day? And shopping with her “You get what you pay for” & her high heels clickety-clacking in my ears?

She’s practically deaf now & went blind a few years back, (although this doesn’t stop her from missing much). In my mind, she’s still that very spry little lady! Shoot, every time I go visit her, announced or not, she’s always sitting there in her nylon stockings (not knee highs mind you; the whole kit & kaboodle, Baby!), heels & earrings on – ready for the next outing I guess. I definitely didn’t get THAT gene from her. I’ve worn a pair of stockings I think once since children have come along! And let’s just say that my kickin’ around the house attire doesn’t even come close. She’s the only one I can call when I hear something funny or exciting on Rush, knowing she heard it too & is probably needing someone to mull it over with as well.

Anyway, the kids are up now & I’ve got to move on with the day, but my heart is heavy. Mom went in to the hospital to be with Grandma today. Please pray for both of them as well as my aunts, uncle, cousins, etc. We’re a pretty tight-knit bunch. This is going to be hard on all of us if it is what it looks like. I’m not ready for Grandma to go, too, yet! But God knows the times & they are in His hands. Please pray for us when you think about it over the next few days/weeks.

I don’t know about tomorrow,
I just live from day to day.
I don’t borrow from it’s sunshine,
For it’s skies may turn to gray.
I don’t worry o’er the future,
For I know what Jesus said,
And today I’ll walk beside Him,
For He knows what is ahead.

Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know Who holds tomorrow,
And I know Who holds my hand.


3 responses to “Tomorrow (Matthew 6:34)

Leave a Reply

