Caution: Falling Log Ahead

It is possible to be totally in the right, but have the completely wrong attitude behind it. That’s exactly what Jesus had against the Pharisees. It’s so easy to shake a head at the Pharisees in disbelief, yet turn around & be the exact same way. That big ole’ log was hanging so far out of my eye the other night it was hitting people all around me!

Over the weekend, my dear hubby & I had a “discussion” about something where obviously I felt I was in the right. It was one of those topics dear to my heart. I was “right” to be upset, disappointed, my thought process was legitimate & all. But my attitude was so horrible behind it, I am ashamed to say! The only reason I do is so, hopefully by writing about it, the next time I can stop myself & remember to give myself better advice, & give Callie good advice when she’s in this situation someday. Mom’s advice to me was, ” Where will it get you? You’re right, but let it go. It’s not going to get you anywhere.” She’s right! As a wife, sometimes we might get hurt & have a “right” to feel hurt, etc. We might be totally correct about something. But if you start disrespecting your husband in your tone of voice & thinking all the while how right you are on this one, you are suddenly TOTALLY in the wrong! That’s where I was the other night. Totally wrong in one bad attitude. Thank God He (and he) loves me even when I pull that garbage! My horrible attitude was ten times more out of line than my husband’s wrong, no matter how important the discussion.

Note to self: In the future, instead of the BA, try remembering how much your husband loves you & the family. Try dishing out a little of the patience & understanding he hands you on a regular basis. Serve up a heapin’ helping of that grace you’ve been given. “A wise woman builds her house; a foolish woman tears hers down with her own hands.” – Proverbs 14:1 Be the wise woman next time.


One response to “Caution: Falling Log Ahead

Leave a Reply

