The Battle of the Bulge

“A person without self-control is as defenseless as a city with broken-down walls.” – Proverbs 25:28

I’ve had that verse card pinched into my recipe holder on my kitchen counter staring at me for the last year or so reminding me of what I’ve got to do. This week I’ve actually started putting it back into practice in a war I like to call “The Battle of the Bulge” or “Operation Dumbo Drop”.

Thought I’d share a few awesome recipes my mother-in-law sent my way (she’s in this war with us!). The first is zero points if you go by Weight Watchers Points system. It is great to fill in the cracks like at four o’clock when you’re hungry & have to fix dinner but don’t want to pig out. Or late at night when you’ve got the munchies. It is also a great way to get those veggies in.

Very Veggie Soup
6 cups water with 2 rounded T of chicken boullion
2 (14.5 oz) cans carrots, drained (or you could chop up some fresh instead)
2 (14.5 oz) cans french cut green beans, drained
2 (10 oz) cans diced tomatoes with green chilies
1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
1/3 cup minced onions
3 cups (or 1/4 head) shredded cabbage
2 cups (3 or 4 stalks) chopped celery
2 T tomato paste
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt

Throw it all in a soup pot & bring to a boil. I kind of like the celery a bit crunchy, so pretty much take it off & let it cool down from there to refrigerate for whenever. Boil longer to soften the celery obviously….Good stuff!

The second recipe is a great one to get that fiber in & tackle the chocolate craving at the same time. I love to bake, so this one has really gotten me excited because I can bake without the guilt here…

Brownie Muffins
3 cups All Bran cereal
2 1/2 cups water
1 low fat brownie mix
1 1/2 tsp baking powder

Soak the cereal in the water for 10 minutes. Add remaining ingredients & mix together. Pour into 24 muffin cups & bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. You will not believe how good these are! They are so moist & chewy. They weigh in at 118 calories, 1 gram of fat, & 3 grams of fiber per muffin!


3 responses to “The Battle of the Bulge

  • Jenny

    Mmmm. I am going to make the soup this week! I have been thinking about that recipe for awhile, if it is the one from Weight Watchers. I haven’t made it for like 10 years. It is great and good for you too!

  • Charley Trafzer

    Amen Sister! Operation Dumbp Drop is a great theme!! Can’t wait to make the soup – it sounds good.

  • J-e-ll-oh! « Liberty 92

    […] being said, I got back into making the fiber brownie muffins & sugar free jello for low point snacks again this week. It is really tough for me to keep up […]

Leave a Reply

