Yet Another Western VBS Craft Idea

Okay. I said I wasn’t going to do any more Western VBS post, but so many have come a searchin’ for ideas, & as we get going in ours, more ideas pop up. Maybe others can benefit.

Last night, I came across the cutest little “leather” concho idea! I made one out of fake leather & lariete roping. Cute, cute, cute!! It’s a nice little craft to do with your own kids this summer just for fun…


Nate thinks they’re pretty cool. His first reaction was they’re like the Lord of the Rings leaf brooches.

The other “Johnny come lately” idea found was a leather lacing picture wallet. They are only $1 per craft & I just hadn’t seen them anywhere else. I’m thinking the kids could put their verses in these.

Again, for those new to this site & needing more ideas, go here, here, & here.

PS, July 2011 – Here are some photos of the concho we made in our VBS. We used fake leather that was embossed. Four years later, we still like it! Cute, easy, usable craft. Highly recommended

PS again, May 2016 – I took new pics of my little charmer & posted above.  Isn’t he the cutest thing??!  I also posted a pic of the back of our concho so you can better see how it is assembled.  I used a 1 & 3/4 inch by 2 & 1/4 inch piece of fake leather for the one pictured.  I made two identical “loops” about three inches long (so that means the lace was around 6 inches long).  First put a cream colored bead in the middle of the lace, then fold the lace in half (pinching the cream bead) & lace five more beads through both ends before tying a knot on the end of each “loop”.  I punched holes on either sides of the fake leather with a small hole punch & then threaded the plastic lace through the holes, threading the lace through the cream beads on either ends before tying the knot on the center lace (the one that went through the leather holes).  That’s it!  Sounds much more complicated when typed out than it actually is to DO.


10 responses to “Yet Another Western VBS Craft Idea

  • NayNay

    Hello…I love this craft. I am teaching a class at our church camp soon and think it would be perfect for both girls and boys. I find it very hard to find crafts that are good for both. I would love to see the pics of your version. I love the idea of using fake leather, but wonder how you put the initial on. Our camp theme is “Branded for Christ”.

  • liberty92

    This was pre-camera days. I found this pic on line somewhere. Since then, I’ve gotten a great camera & take my own pics. Our conchos were ADORABLE, but they were dark brown & had no branding on them. I suppose you could use little scraps of real leather & I think you can brand that with like a wood burning tool or even just a Sharpie. I bought a scrap of cute brown fake & it worked really well. A sharpie would work on fake leather, too. That’s what I would use. If I get time, I’ll try to dig out ours & take a pic for you. It looked basically the same though. Glad to hear you are using the idea! Have a GREAT camp week! I’ll be praying for you, Leigh Ann

  • Rebecca Straub Hirschy

    HI! I like this idea to use at our VBS. I was trying to figure out how you did the beads. What are the steps for that process. Thanks!

  • Louann

    Do you have any directions for the bandana concho….. what lengths of leather did you use for each part ?

  • liberty92

    Oh my goodness…this has been so long ago. I will try to dig this out of the toy box & if I can’t find it, make another one & take better pics with specific directions for you. That little guy in the picture is finishing 2nd grade today!! : ) Glad you can use the idea. Here’s hoping I can update this over the weekend. – LA

    • Louann

      Did you get a chance to find those directions ?

      • liberty92

        Yay!! God is good! I was able to find that little thing these many years later even after our move to another state last summer! : ) Took some measurements for you & added more pics & directions. Hope that helps. Please let me know if you still have questions. Blessings! – LA

      • Louann

        thanks for your prompt reply! Glad you saved it ! One more question. How long is the piece of lace that threads thru the fake leather? ( I used white craft foam and plan to put child’s initial on it.) I found some leather laces on clearance from Walmart for $1.50 for 8 yards . What a bargain ! This after almost buying a roll at Hobby Lobby for $9.99 ( clerk wouldn’t let me use two 40% off in the same day !! ) HaHa

      • liberty92

        It’s 2 & 1/2 inches after being knotted so I used a 5 inch (with a tad more to knot it) piece of lace for the back of the concho. Way to be a Proverbs 31 woman with that sale snatch! : )

      • Louann

        Thanks so much. Have a blessed day !

Leave a Reply

