Mighty Hero, The Lord Is With You!

For a few weeks in Wednesday Kid’s Club, we’re talking about Gideon. I love this story! The key verse brought out last week was vs. 12 of Judges 6. When Gideon was hiding out trying to thresh wheat in a winepress so no Midianites would steal his stuff, an angel of the Lord came to him saying, “Mighty hero, the Lord is with you!” God sees the potential in us! He doesn’t see the weak sad-sacks we see ourselves to be at times. He knows what we can become if we choose to let Him work in & through us! Yeah!! The Lord promised to be with him (just like He does for us in the very last verse of Matthew). He said Gideon would destroy his enemies (just like He promises us in Matthew 16:18 & 19/Romans 8:37) God saw a warrior in him! He saw Gideon’s potential long before Gideon did. The same God sees the potential in us; isn’t that wonderful?!

And the story starts getting really good when Judges 6:34 says, “Then the Spirit of the Lord took possession of Gideon.” As incredible as is it, we have that same Spirit living in each one of us today!!! I stand amazed at this when I read the OT when He was only in one person at a time. We have the power of His Spirit living in us just like Gideon!! Every day!!! Each of us!!!!

Lord, thank You for the incredible gift of Your Spirit in me today. Help me live like it! Make me constantly aware of Your Spirit in me today & I ask that You live Your life completely through me so I can be the warrior You created me to be – the Mighty hero You see in me.


Leave a Reply

