I Corinthians 13 – A Homeschooling Mother’s Rendition

If I keep my house immaculately clean and have a cute set of holiday decorations for every occasion & room in the house, but do not set the tone for peace
& joy in the home, I’m just another maid.

If I slave away in the kitchen, baking bread from scratch, preparing gourmet meals and arranging a beautifully adorned table at mealtime, but do not speak with a kind voice to my children & husband, I’m just another cook.

If I work at the local pregnancy center, make visits to the nursing home and give all that I have to charity, but don’t have time to help my husband when he needs me, it profits me nothing.

If I spend hours at the library gleaning resources, attend every CHEO Convention, have the best curriculum, and buy all kinds of supplimental materials but don’t teach my children how to love the Lord their God with all their hearts, souls, minds, and strength, I have missed the point.

Love stops the cooking to hug the child. Love sets aside the housecleaning to kiss the husband. Love is kind, though harried and tired. Love doesn’t envy another’s home that has coordinated china and table linens.

Love doesn’t yell at the kids to get out of the way, but is thankful they are there to be in the way. Love doesn’t give only to those who are able to give in return but rejoices in giving to those who can’t.

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails. Washing machines will break, pearl rings will be lost, mini vans will rust, but giving the gift of love will endure.

Spend time really loving your family today. Happy Valentine’s Day!


One response to “I Corinthians 13 – A Homeschooling Mother’s Rendition

  • Michelle

    Wow! Ya’ll got some snow didn’t ya!! I wish we would get one good one (for the girls) I love the new thingy in your side bar ~ can’t remember what it is called but was it easy. I went to their website this morning and could not figure it out! I would love to add one too ~ Love the Anne one :o)
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

